Last week we took the girls to the zoo (read about it here). Toward the end of our day, we went to the dolphin show. As we were waiting (in the front row) for the show to begin, I was watching the dolphins swim serenely around the tank … while simultaneously being bombarded by the noise of about 30 pre-schoolers in yellow hats (eventually we moved up a little). Most of the noise was about where to sit. Some of the kids wanted to sit up higher, while others thought it would be better to sit lower. And they were all operating under the assumption that the loudest voice wins.

In the background you can see a different, green-hatted group ...

You can see a similar, green-hatted group in the background here ...

But I was sitting there, marking the difference between what was happening in front of me and what was happening behind me. And I was thinking … I want to live where the dolphins are swimming. They aren’t worried about what they might miss later; they are enjoying what they are doing right now. They don’t seem to be crying for the wide ocean they’ve lost; they are enjoying the refreshing pool they have now. They aren’t chattering and arguing and complaining; they are swimming, and smiling, and enjoying.

  • Maybe I can spend less time worrying about what I might miss, and more time enjoying what I have.
  • Maybe I can spend less time thinking about what I don’t have and more time enjoying the ocean of blessings surrounding me.
  • Maybe I can spend less time complaining and arguing and convincing, and more time listening, and smiling, and enjoying.

Oh, and I think I want to start swimming again …

