Vienna Diary
October 14

On Saturday morning, we boarded a plane in Chicago for an eight hour flight to Vienna.  As we boarded, Robb remarked that 100 years ago this journey would have taken a couple weeks, 200 years ago, it would have taken a couple months and 300 years ago may have taken up to a year.

But I’ve been thinking, that although the physical journey from middle America to Vienna, Austria only took 14 hours, (including driving time from northern Indiana to Chicago) the real journey has taken half a lifetime.

In 14 hours, we drove …, flew… and drove…, but that only represents physical distance.  Metaphysical distance is quite another thing.

How do yo measure the journey from I can’t to I can do all things through Christ who strengthens me; the journey from It’s impossible to With God all things are possible; from It’s too much to ask to Here am I, Lord, send me; from Do I dare dream it to Delight yourself in the Lord and He will give you the desires of your heart.  Half a lifetime and counting…

I don’t know what the future holds, but I do know that the steps of this journey will not have been taken in vain.

How about you?  Where are you going? And what heart miles do you still need to travel to get there?

