The other day I was thinking about the days (almost 21 years ago now) when Robb and I first started dating.  Those were the days when I couldn’t stop smiling.  I went home to visit my mom and she asked me what I was so happy about.  And I told her I was in love.

Here’s what I’m wondering:  What is the spiritual equivalent of “can’t stop smiling”?  What if Christ followers wore their hearts on their sleeves?  What would it look like?  I don’t think we’d all go around with silly grins on our faces because sometimes life is painful even when you’re with the One who loves you best.

But I say I love God.  So how does that show?  I’m thinking maybe sometimes it’s a deep well of peace.  Sometimes it’s joy bubbling over.  Sometimes it’s unconditional love for my neighbor.  Sometimes it’s strength in the face of difficulty.  Or maybe it’s all of those things all of the time.

But I do know that if we really love God, it should show.  People should be asking us what’s up?  How are you doing that? What’s so great that you can’t stop smiling?

What do you think?

 Psalm 51:12 
       Restore to me the joy of your salvation
       and grant me a willing spirit, to sustain me.

