A couple days ago, when I was having a serious problem staying on task (and when am I not?), I twittered, “I have the attention span of a flea.  Now, for all I know, fleas are the most single minded, focused creatures in the universe.  (Get blood and get it now).  But what I meant is that I have trouble focusing.  Even when it’s something I really want to do, I often struggle to keep at it until it’s done.  Usually there are 3 or 12 other things that catch my attention in between.

So, here are some of the things I am working on:

1. Reducing visual clutter.  My workspace (read house) is cluttered and distracting. Working on it.  And here my strategy is pick one thing and just do it until it’s done. Lather. Rinse. Repeat.

2. Devising some kind of system to organize projects and next actions and then using it (that’s the hard part).  I need help with this one.  GTD seems to big and complicated – is that just me? 

3. Setting time limits.  Work for 45 minutes and then letting myself read, check email, eat, do whatever for 15.  This is helping a lot.

So, those are some of my current strategies.  But I could really use your help.  What do you do to keep yourself engaged until it’s done?

