This post is inspired in part by this post by Liz Strauss

I am fortunate to have a backyard that is private and park-like. Further, we have a small family room that has floor to ceiling windows looking out on same. We have a hummingbird feeder right outside the window and for some reason this week the hummingbird activity has been non-stop. I spend my reading/writing/thinking/praying time in that room. And this week I have been completely distracted by the birds and butterflys and unable to get anything done.

I was lamenting the lost work time yesterday until I decided to adopt a more “in the moment” attitude. First, the hummingbirds will be heading south all too soon, and although the view is quite nice in the winter it is much more static and much less likely to be a distraction.  Furthermore, we’ve had that feeder for at least 4 years and this is the first time we have had more than half a dozen sightings in one summer.  And finally, there is a very real chance that we will not be in this house next year and in fact moving to a place where I don’t even know if they have hummingbirds.

So, I’ve decided to linger over my coffee and enjoy the view, to be ok spending the time moodling, always, of course, tempered by the knowledge that it is my responsibility to provide my family with nutritious meals and clean underwear at regular intervals.

