I’ve been allowed to take a step this week on a path that I’ve desired for all of my adult life, but not really believed in.  The obstacles seemed insurmountable.  I’d stopped hoping for it; stopped dreaming about it; stopped talking about it . . . even to God.

But I’ve been wondering if my belief that it was impossible was one of the things that stood in the way of God’s blessing, God’s gift.  It’s taken me a long time to get here, but I finally (at least in this one area) stopped looking at the waves and started looking into the face of my Saviour, remembering His fierce love for me, believing in it.  I believe that God has not brought and will not bring me into the desert to die.  The desert is a place of testing, of learning, of deepening, but it isn’t a place of abandonment, rather a place of meeting – my Lord and myself.

It’s just a small step, rooted in submission and painful denial of self. And the path may not end in the place I think it will, but I am hopeful for the next step and eagerly looking forward to the living out of God’s plan for the next season.

 Now to him who is able to do immeasurably more than all we ask or imagine, according to his power that is at work within us, to him be glory in the church and in Christ Jesus throughout all generations, for ever and ever! Amen.  Ephesians 3:20-21

