I get an email devotional every morning.  It is seldom the only thing I read, but often the first thing I read to prepare myself to listen for God’s voice.  The other day made direct reference to the serenity prayer:  God grant me the serenity to accept the things I cannot change/ the courage to change those things I can/ and the wisdom to know the difference

As my lip was curling up into a sneer at this trite, familiar cliche of a prayer, God brought me up short with the realization that these three: serenity, courage and wisdom are exactly what I am seeking in my life.  I am struggling with unhappiness and I know that there is joy and peace and courage to be found, but can’t seem to find them.

And that set me to thinking.  What other scriptures, quotes, sayings and prayers am I treating with contempt because they are so familiar?  Which ones have become so pat to recite that I no longer attend to what they mean?

For God so loved the world that He gave His only begotten Son . . .
If God is for us, who can be against us?
Do not be anxious about anything . . .
I will never leave you or forsake you . . .

May I never forget to ponder anew what the almighty can do, if with His love He befriend Thee.

