28“Come to me, all you who are weary and burdened, and I will give you rest. 29Take my yoke upon you and learn from me, for I am gentle and humble in heart, and you will find rest for your souls. 30For my yoke is easy and my burden is light.”  Matthew 11

What if the burden is heavy because it isn’t mine to carry?

The burden of working is mine to carry
         – the burden of providence is not

The burdens of obedience and courage are mine 
         – the burden of outcome is not

The burden of learning to hope and trust and spend time getting to know You is mine
         – the burden of working out my spirituality is not

Who wants to carry an extra load?

O God, grant me wisdom to discern what is mine to carry and what is not.  And help me surrender what is not and surrender myself to carrying what is with faith, hope, love, courage, peace and joy.  Help me rest in your love, in the knowledge of how much You love me.

1 Have mercy on me, O God, have mercy on me,
       for in you my soul takes refuge.
       I will take refuge in the shadow of your wings
       until the disaster has passed.

 2 I cry out to God Most High,
       to God, who fulfills {his purpose} for me.

 3 He sends from heaven and saves me,
         . . . God sends his love and his faithfulness.

 5 Be exalted, O God, above the heavens;
       let your glory be over all the earth.

 7 My heart is steadfast, O God,
       my heart is steadfast;
       I will sing and make music.

  9 I will praise you, O Lord, among the nations;
       I will sing of you among the peoples.

 10 For great is your love, reaching to the heavens;
       your faithfulness reaches to the skies.

 11 Be exalted, O God, above the heavens;
       let your glory be over all the earth.

Psalm 57

