Thought #1:  In Every Thing You Ever Wanted to Know About Heaven, Peter Kreeft suggests, “Since our highest freedom means freedom to be ourselves, we are most free when we are most obedient to God’s will, which expresses his idea of us. Thus freedom and obedience coincide. To obey God is to be free in the most radical sense: free from false being.” 

So, obedience makes one more who he is, more the person God means him to be.

Thought #2:  About a week and a half ago, I was sitting in a sermon that was the last in a series on, The Road to Maturity, by Dr. Marcus Warner.  One of the last things he said was that essentially the road to maturity comes down to one thing, trusting God. 

And I thought, yes, and where does trust lead? obedience, often blind obedience.

One of the things I’ve been saying to myself lately is that I only get today.  I don’t have tomorrow and I especially don’t get yesterday.  So, live for today.  Learn from yesterday, look forward to tomorrow, but live today.  This has been especially hard for me lately, because I don’t like today very much.  Today God is asking me to do things that I very much do not want to do.  The dilemma for me, though, is that I’m desperate to get where this road is taking me, freedom, wholeness, the freedom to be who I really am, who I’m meant to be.  I’ve wasted some time, lately, looking for a shortcut or a detour.  I’ve also wasted time telling myself that it’s not really where I want to go.  And I’ve spent a lot of energy explaining to God and everyone why I can’t do it.  But here’s a funny thing, as I’m spending more and more time with God, He is letting me lie to myself less and less.

The thing is, I’ve been on this road before.  Oh, it looked different, but the destination was essentially the same . . . freedom.  And each time, I’ve chosen the detour, the rabbit trail which has been the equivalent of running in the other direction – cowardice.

Isaiah chapter 30 says:

This is what the Sovereign LORD, the Holy One of Israel says:
     “In repentance and rest is your salvation,
      in quietness and trust is your strength,
      but you would have none of it.
  

You said, ‘No, we will flee on horses.’
       Therefore you will flee!
       You said, ‘We will ride off on swift horses.’
       Therefore your pursuers will be swift! 
 

A thousand will flee
       at the threat of one;
       at the threat of five
       you will all flee away,
       till you are left
       like a flagstaff on a mountaintop,
       like a banner on a hill.” 
 

Yet the LORD longs to be gracious to you;
       he rises to show you compassion.
       For the LORD is a God of justice.
       Blessed are all who wait for him!

 I’m tired from running and I think the balance is shifting.  My desire for what’s on the other side is beginning to outweigh my wish for another path.  So here’s to obedience and freedom and waiting on God and truth and one step at a time.

