Last night was my last Teen MOPS meeting.  After nearly 7 years as coordinator, God has told me to stop and rest.  So as of today, I am officially on sabbatical.  I don’t know if it will be a true sabbatical, as in one year.  All I know is that I’ve stopped and when God says, “go”, I will go.

Today, during my prayer time, I was feeling a little lost and bereft and very empty . . .  I’m not good at stop.  I was feeling like the idea of sabbatical seems self-focused and maybe a little prideful.  And at the same time I was pondering the verse Jon shared in church on Sunday about offering a cup of cold water to the little one . . . And if anyone gives even a cup of cold water to one of these little ones because he is my disciple, I tell you the truth, he will certainly not lose his reward.” Matthew 10:42

And the thought came to me from God that 7 years of Teen MOPS is a lot of cups of cold water (both literal and figurative) and it seems it’s time for me to sit down and take a drink myself.  It’s not self-absorbed or prideful.  It’s obedience submission and love.

Then I opened my bible to read.  I turned to Psalm 63, which I’d been meaning to read for several days, but couldn’t remember why. 

Here’s why:
O God, you are my God,
       earnestly I seek you;
       my soul thirsts for you,
       my body longs for you,
       in a dry and weary land
       where there is no water.

Please pray for the Teen MOPS ministry and especially for this leadership transition.  Please pray for the challenges of a new leader coming to take over an already established team.

