One of the things I’ve realized over the last few months is that I’ve all but forgotten not only how to dream, but even what my dreams have been.  And so I’ve been trying to figure out why they’ve gone, where they’ve gone, and how I can get them back.  The irony is that one reason I have been unable to dream is that I have been asleep.  We can’t truly dream until we wake up.

But everything exposed by the light becomes visible, for it is light that makes everything visible. This is why it is said:
   “Wake up, O sleeper,
      rise from the dead,
   and Christ will shine on you.”
Ephesians 5:13-14

 Here’s what I know so far.  Satan is a dream stealer.  It’s part of his master plan.  If he can get us to focus on what’s wrong right now, on what overwhelms us, on our perceived aloneness, he can steal our dreams and keep us from having more.   He encourages us to stumble half asleep through our lives and never wake up, never look around, never trust the hopes that we cherish in our hearts.  And so we say we hope that things will change, but we don’t really believe they can.

I believe God is a dream maker, dream giver, dream fulfill-er.  Surely after 36 years of following Jesus, at least some of my dreams are from God.

So I’m commited to waking, to letting the light of Christ shine in my heart.  I’m letting myself dream again and trying hard to believe that some of them will come true.  I am listening intently to the song God has placed in my heart to see if the dreams I am dreaming harmonize with the song He is singing.  And I’m asking Him to give my heart what to desire.

