“Therefore be careful how you walk, not as unwise men, but as wise, making the most of your time, because the days are evil. — Ephesians 5:15 -16 (NASB)

How eager we are, when we hear God’s voice in a fresh way, to take up the reins and whip up the horse and gallop ahead on the path we think God has laid out for us.  But, in truth, God seldom lets me see more than a step or two ahead, (if that).  So I constantly have to school myself in patience (with varying degrees of success).

Are you looking at your present trials, victories, sorrows and joys as preparation for what God has for you in the future.  If so, then I would like to suggest that you are missing out on what God has for you today.  Don’t run ahead of God, always analyzing and trying to wring sense and meaning out of what today’s experiences have brought.  Revel in God’s grace today and let tomorrow take care of itself.  (Preaching to myself here by the way).

God is intensely interested in what we are going through today.  And the fact that each experience prepares me for the next and the next is really God’s business (and He’s so very good at it).  Each day has enough trouble of its own.

