I was thinking yesterday that I felt like I was drowning, drowning in responsibility, housework, taxes, work, feelings, unknowing.  And it made me reminisce . . . 

I was a lifeguard in college.  And one of the things I learned was that it is very difficult to save someone who is struggling.  They may struggle because they don’t trust you.  Or they may struggle in an effort to help you, to help themselves.  But the best thing they can do is be still and let you, the rescuer, do all the work.  Lifeguards are taught to approach from behind so that the one in need of help will not incapacitate you both in his effort to “help” you rescue him.  They are taught more difficult holds for the one who cannot relax and submit to being saved.

And I was thinking . . .

How like a lifeguard is our Savior.  And how like those foolish, distrustful, well-meaning, drowning people are we when we try to help God save us, when we struggle against the Savior because we don’t trust Him fully, when we flail and grab and kick because we don’t understand that in order for God to save us, we have to be still and know that He is God.  We have to be still and let God do the work, let God carry us. 

O Lord, help me to remember that the best way to be rescued is to submit, the best way to find Your rest is to let You carry me, and the best way to get ahead is to be where You are.  Help me to stop making it so difficult for you to rescue me.  And when I begin to sink, help me remember to reach up and cry out, Lord save me, and to trust in both Your ability to do so and Your pleasure in the doing.

