Since Jon posted It’s the Relationships on his blog I’ve been trying to wrap my head around the very complex concept of being a disciple and making disciples.  I’ve been praying two things lately – that God would show me if there is someone I need to be discipling and that He would help me see people the way He sees them.  And something interesting is happening.  I am waking up to the fact that I am surrounded by women in pain.  And God is telling me to be more intentional in the relationships that I already have.

In light of Malachi 2:7

For the lips of a priest ought to preserve knowledge and from his mouth men should seek instruction – because he is the messenger of the Lord Almighty.

  • Shouldn’t there be an element of discipleship in all our interactions as believers?  If yes, then why are we wasting time talking about the weather and our happiness?
  • Does God bring people into your life that need your brand of discipling?  Hurting people are brought to those with gifts of mercy – those who need to be grounded in the word are drawn to those with gifts of teaching, etc.  If yes, then shouldn’t we be looking and listening for those opportunities . . . and expecting them?
  • Have we missed the boat looking at discipleship as leading a younger Christian through a book study?  trying to make a program out of it instead of living it?  I’m not saying book studies aren’t valuable – but I wonder if telling our stories to each other and praying for one another might not be more effective.

I’m having a hard time articulating what I am thinking about discipleship, but these questions are a start.  And I think, for me, one of the first steps is to surrender my agenda to God and be willing to follow the Holy Spirit as He leads throughout my days – so, so hard.  So many times the things I think are important are not kingdom things.

Thoughts?

