This afternoon Robb and I attended the Chris tomlin, Matt Redman concert (a misnomer for what was really an awesome three hour worship experience).  Back in the car on the way home, I said to him, “that was exactly what I needed.”  and he said, “that’s funny because when I was thinking about buying the tickets a month or six weeks ago, I almost didn’t because money is tight.  But then I kept thinking, we’re going to need it then.  And so I bought them.”

What a great, challenging example of listening to God and following through even when it’s counterintuitive – because, O boy, did we need it today.

Side Note:  In the middle of the concert we sang, I Am a Friend of God, which for any who don’t know is pretty much that lyric repeated about a thousand times.  It’s (can you tell?) not my favorite song.  So when we started singing I was laughing because here I was singing a song I complain about to Robb just about every time we sing it in church.  I didn’t draw his attention, because I didn’t want to interfere with his worship experience (something our Sunday School class discussed just this morning).  But by the end of the song I was laughing because how unfathomable it is that that simple lyric is true.  God calls us friend.  The creator of the universe, who breathed out the stars is in constant communication with us because we are friends and more than friends – we’re family.

Moral of the story:  Don’t complain – especially about the worship service.

side note longer than original post.  Is that unruly?

