Ok, so we’re attempting to be intentional about having our conversations be part of the One Conversation, the ongoing river of conversation with the God of the universe, that began, did we know it, in the moment we drew our first breath, when God leaned over us in the arms of that earthly deliverer and whispered love words to our hearts.  We’re learning how to step into the flow of that conversation, a conversation that from one side is continuous and loving and so completely what we need.  But from our side it operates in fits and starts with days and sometimes months and years going by in which we shut out the voice of God and go our own way, or in which we pray before meals and in church on Sunday and wonder what it means to pray without ceasing.  I’m realizing this week that two things we need as we step into that river of conversation are truth and precision.

I’m realizing the need for truth in my life in a new way.  Really, it’s all that matters.  I think I need food and light, water and air, but without truth, the physical necessities are meaningless.  So, in the One Conversation, of which all other conversations are attempting to be a part, I am resolved to practice truthfulness.

What does this look like?  I had a conversation this week in which a friend made an observation about me, about who I am at the core.  Because it was an important conversation and because both of us were very intentionally including the Holy Spirit, I recognized it as truth.  It was important because it is a relatively new truth about me.  Historically, it has not been true, but now it describes me to the core.  I told this to my friend and said to him that this was an important statement because it represented a work of God in my life.

He observed that my experience of raising my special, challenging son, with whom life is a continual struggle, has changed me at the very core and caused me to become a different person with different strengths.

I thought about that for a minute and I said, “Couldn’t He have chosen an easier lesson?”

The response, “Would the truth go as deep?”  OK.

On the drive home from that conversation, I thought to myself, “I would be ok with shallow.”  Then I took that thought out to examine it because I made a recent promise to myself to take my thoughts captive and examine them regularly for truth.  I asked myself, “is it true that shallow would be ok?  And the answer was no.  I am not content with shallow.  I want to live my life deep, deep.  I want my relationships to be deep.  And I want deep meaning to live after me as a result of what I do on this earth.  So, “Thank you, Daddy, for the deep lesson in mercy and caring and seeing things through to the end because it’s the right thing to do.”  That’s the truth.

While we need to be truthful in our conversations if we want them to be part of the One Conversation, we also need to be precise.  And really they are inextricably linked.  Anytime I am less than precise in my conversation, the truth of what I am saying is compromised.  This is critically important when we are talking to God and about God.

In the course of the same conversation with my friend, I was relating to him some events of my week.  I said, “I remembered this week . . . ” and then I said, “no, that’s not right.  God reminded me this week . . . ”  The difference seems subtle, but is vitally important.  The former implies coincidence, the latter gives credit to God.

So I am practicing truth and precision in my conversations which I am intentionally striving to make part of the One Conversation, because I want to fill my head and my heart with whatever is true and right, noble and pure, excellent and praiseworthy, and because I want my interactions on earth to edify others and point to God.  All else is dust.

